English Journal

*This is an English journal I wrote for grade 11.

What is the one thing that excites, relaxes, and drives me in one single sitting? I would have to say reading. I know since this is an English journal that might sound a little cheesy. But it is the truth: I really like reading. I feel like people who don’t read or don’t like reading just do not understand what they are missing. When I read it’s like I am in another world, from a different place or time period, and I have become a different person. I am engrossed in a story that I enjoy from the very first page. Even if I don’t find a book interesting if it mildly intrigues me I will most likely finish it. And although it may sound strange I do fall in love with the characters. I want the happy ending that most books have, the love stories and the spunky best friends shy main characters get. Maybe it is because my life is boring or I think it’s boring.

For me life is routine: wake up, get ready, go to school, come home, do homework and usually my extra things consist of listening to music, reading, watching TV and spending time on my computer. My life is like a normal teenagers life should be except maybe for the reading part. And to me I want excitement, action, mystery and romance and for now the only place I can get that are books and my own imagination.

Since I have this deep affection for books I also have a love of writing my own stories. I want to create an adventure for another person to read and to fall in love with as I have with many other authors. A huge dream of mine is to publish my own novel. It is my ultimate goal to have something of mine read by millions of people, for them to crush on my characters and picture themselves in my world. I mean who doesn’t want to go to Hogwarts? Or spend a day with Katniss Everdeen? I get it that some people don’t want to be involved in that sort of fantasy and if I never get to publish anything then that would be okay because I am sure I can entertain myself with my own stories. If no one reads my books or likes what I have dreamed up in my own little world then I am not going to cry and scream. Okay, I might be upset but I will try my best because like my favorite quote states: “Wherever you go, go with all your heart.” (Confucius) And if I decide to go in the direction of writing a book then I will go with all my heart.

2 thoughts on “English Journal

  1. langc6530 says:

    I love to read as well, but it’s always so deflating when you finish a series that you’ve been committed to for a while and then your life feels so inconsequential. xD Books ensnare me a lot easier than movies do, but sometimes a particularly powerful movie will give me the same feeling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

