The End of the Line

*Daily Post: Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me

What is the legacy you want to leave behind?

I know, probably, that I will not be famous and I will not leave behind a famous piece of work that I do, so this prompt made me wonder what I do want to leave behind, and what I want my lasting effect to be. It made me realize that I want family to be my lasting effect. I want my family to remember me as a loving and caring person. I want my children and grandchildren to remember me in my happiest times and I hope they celebrate my life instead of mourning my death. I want my friends to know that I was there for them through thick and thin.  I want to leave this world knowing that I have lived the only life I could possible lead, and that I have lived my life to the very fullest.

Legacy is a hard word to describe, because it can mean so many different things to different people. My legacy wouldn’t be complex or overambitious. I would be lying if I said I didn’t want adventure in my life, that I want to try new things and meet new people, but I think in the end all I really want is a good home and good family who knows when I leave them that they were the best thing that happened to me and that they are my legacy.

Tell me, what do you guys what your legacy to be?

 

2 thoughts on “The End of the Line

  1. cvetwo says:

    I really don’t care what ‘legacy’ I leave as I believe that once I die, I am dead, so why would I care? I am more concerned with trying to be the best person I can everyday while I am still here.

    Cvet

  2. langc6530 says:

    I want to put my whole being into my dream profession (aerospace engineering) in hopes of making some kind of lasting impact on commercial aviation. It’s not so much the recognition I desire, just the fulfillment of having made air travel safer/easier/more practical for humans everywhere. 🙂

    And besides, I won’t have kids to remember me, so someone has to.

Leave a Reply

