Would You Ever…?

You don’t usually think you’re going to get advice in a bathroom. But that’s what happened, in the bathroom at school, I closed the stall door and taped up was a blue sheet of paper, and it said..

Would you ever let anyone treat you the way you treat yourself?

This was very strange, as you might imagine, having a thought-provoking question in a bathroom. But nonetheless it did make me think. You always think of the question, “Would you want to be treated the way you treat others”? But this question reversed the process just a bit. Do you want people to treat you they way you treat yourself? Oh my gosh, what a concept, because as we know we do not always treat ourselves with the utmost kindness. We are constantly critiquing our bodies, our features and our personalities. We always have that one trait we hate about ourselves.

Would we want people to always treat us like this? Would we want people to be criticizing our bodies, when it is clearly none of their business? I admit to hating certain things about myself, because I am not going to lie and say I am a perfect person. But this question made me wonder if I let people treat me that way, and if I let them tell me about my unflattering appearances, that is not going to make me feel any better either.

So I don’t know who put that in the bathroom, but I think I get your point. You want us to treat ourselves better because we don’t want to be treated that way, and we don’t want to treat others that way either. If we treat ourselves and everyone else with respect and admiration then the world will be a much better place.

 

4 thoughts on “Would You Ever…?

  1. saats9708 says:

    I hear what you’re saying. It’s so easy sometimes to be nice to others and forgive others, but its a lot harder to do either for yourself.

  2. langc6530 says:

    What an inspiring bathroom stall! 😮 That’s such an interesting question — certainly not one we would frequently think to ask ourselves. But come to think of it, no, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t tolerate that. :s

    It’s ironic because if someone else treats you like scum, it’s bullying, but if you treat yourself like scum, then it’s modesty…

  3. simmk2287 says:

    This is really insightful, and I totally agree! It’s really easy to start beating yourself up because you know your flaws better than anyone else does, but it’s important to remember that you’re in control, and showing yourself a little kindness can go a long way!

  4. kippm6019 says:

    That’s very interesting. I agree, I don’t think I’m a perfect person either. I know I have more flaws that I can count but that’s okay. What defines a perfect person anyways? I think the true perfect person is the person who acknowledges their flaws and accepts who they are. Of course it’s natural to want to change some flaws that effect others but much of who we are defines us. Nothing should change that.
    If we all treated ourselves like we were meant to be this way then we’d never feel insulted again for we have accepted the truth.

Leave a Reply

