I Do Not Want to Say Goodbye

I do not want to say goodbye

All I wish for is my soul to fly.

“Will I ever see you again?”

You pray and plead.

Perhaps, but first I must see where this road will lead.

This path I wish to walk;

You are afraid people will mock.

I do not want to say goodbye

Truthfully that is just a lie

I can already hear the sweet sounds of unconstrained nature

I can already smell the independence of the air

But why would I ever dare?

My legs ache to run as a wild animal would,

I do want to say goodbye

But do not worry about me true freedom will never let me die.

Leave a Reply

